Älgarnas Trädgård - , Förankrat I Forntiden 1972 (Sweden, Folk/Progressive/Psychedelic/Space Rock)

  • 2 years ago
The Swedish group Algarnas Tradgard (Garden of the Elks) were formed in 1969 and played an active part in the progressive movement of the next seven years, often performing at free festivals. Their 1971 debut album was a radical exploration of the new possibilities opened up by creative use of the recording studio as an instrument, in a similar vein to Faust and other German experimenters, while also pulling in folk and medieval influences. On stage they would improvise more upon riffs and extensive touring led to their sound becoming heavier and more rocky, yet with arrangement complexs and dynamic interplay between their wide range of instruments: violins, cello, zither, sitar, tabla and flute added to the conventional rock band of bass, drums, guitars and keyboards. They recorded a second album in 1973-74, but its release was "Delayed" until 2001 (hence the album's name). The band finally split up in 1976. No other official recordings exist, although there must be bootlegs.
01. Two Hours Over Two Blue Mountains With A Cuckoo On Each Side, Of The Hours… That Is — 13:14
02. There Is A Time For Everything, There Is A Time When Even Time Will Meet… — 6:08
03. Children Of Possibilities - 3:11
04. La Rotta - 1:44
05. Viriditas - 3:00
06. Rings Of Saturn - 7:14
07. The Future Is A Hovering Ship, Anchored In The Past - 5:02
8. 5/4 - 10:34
9. The Mirrors Of Gabriel - 8:26

Andreas Brandt - violin, vocals, percussion, flute
Mikael Johansson - bass, handdrum, zither, tablas, percussion
Dennis Lindh - drums, tabla, percussion, zinks, jews harp
Dan Söderqvist - guitars, percussion
Jan Ternald - mellotron, piano, Moog modular, organ, electric piano
Sebastian Öberg - cello, flute, sitar, tabla
Margaretha Söderberg - female vocals (03)
Christer Öhman - percussion (04)
Kjell Karlgren - alto saxophone (05)
Christer Bothén - baritone saxophone (05)