Rajya Sabha Elections 2024: BJP Releases List Of Candidates For Upcoming Biennial Elections
  • 2 months ago
On February 11, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha Biennial Elections to be held in various states. RPN Singh, Sudhanshu Trivedi, Chaudhary Tejveer Singh, Sadhna Singh, Amarpal Maurya, Sangita Balwant and Navin Jain will contest from Uttar Pradesh. A total of 58 Rajya Sabha members will retire by the first week of May this year, reported ANI. The retiring members include eight Central Ministers, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh & BJP national President JP Nadda. Samajwadi Party's Jaya Bachchan, BJP's Anil Baluni and Prakash Javadekar, and BJD's Amar Patnaik will be retiring from the Rajya Sabha. Currently, the BJP has 93 MPs in the Rajya Sabha, 30 MPs in Congress, 13 in the Trinamool Congress, and six nominated members, among others, in a house of 239 with six vacancies. Watch the video to know more.