Speaker of the House finally elected, ending three weeks of leaderless chaos

Rep. Mike Johnson, an ultraconservative and Trump loyalist, was voted in as the new speaker of the House. The Representative from Louisiana was the fourth nominee for the speakership after Rep. Kevin McCarthy was pushed out by far-right Republicans in an unprecedented ouster on October 3, 2023.